Splinterlands comes with various rewarding battle types and provides a player with an everlasting experience of fighting with cards in each type of battle. So, we will learn in this guide about the types of battles offered in the Splinterlands game.

All the battle types require skills and different cards to win a battle, it is up to the player how well he predicts the opponent's strategy and uses his skills and cards to compete in each type of battle.


Types of Battle in Splinterlands

There are around 5 basic and advanced types of battle, 2 of them are just for fun and learning, while 3 of them will reward a player with interesting goodies and cryptocurrency.

  1. Practice
  2. Challenge
  3. Ranked Battles (Modern / Wild)
  4. Tournament / Events
  5. Guild Brawls


1 - Practice

Practice is a type of Player-vs-Player battle, which is intended for players to try different types of battle strategies with other interested players and sharpen their gaming skills. Although there are no rewards in this battle section, it is only for practicing purposes and fun battles only.

For a new player, it is very important to use this trial-and-error method to learn about the battle system and understand the cards' behavior in the game. It will also give you an idea about the opponent's strategy and card types used by him.

To access a Practice battle, simply visit the Battle section and click 'Practice' to automatically find a suitable opponent to start a fight with. You can use all types of cards in this mode and it uses the Wild format.


2) Challenge

Challenge mode is an invite-only battle system, where a player can invite another player to fight against him, the opponent can be a friend, guild member, or anyone online who wants to accept your invitation to participate in the Challenge.

This is also a fun type of battle more against the players you know to enjoy the friendly battles. There is no reward in the Challenge mode.

To access the Challenge battle, click on the 'Challenge' in the Battle section, and a window will pop up as shown in the image below.

Enter the player's name in the 'Opponent' field you like to invite and click the "Send" button, he must be online and accept your invitation to the battle to begin the fight.

Challenge battles are based on Wild format, but you can impose the Level Limits and Card types from the drop-down menus given there.


3) Ranked Battles (Modern / Wild)

Ranked Battle type is the advanced mode of gameplay, where a player participates in PVP battles and gains reward points to accumulate season/focus chests and SPS rewards.

In ranked battles, a player will only receive Reward Points once he reaches the Bronze III league. It is necessary to have 100+ Collection Power (CP) to reach Bronze III league from Novice.

Ranked rewards are further divided into 2 formats and each format has its own rules, rewards, and Leaderboard. These formats are known as "Modern" and "Wild".

Modern Format

To access the Modern format, visit the Battle sections and click on the "Modern" tab to reveal your Modern format battle system.

Modern format allows only modern card types which are based on Chaos Legion and Untamed editions of cards. A player is restricted to using only Untamed, Chaos, Rewards, Promo, and newer Dice cards in this battle mode.

The CP requirement for each league is lowered in this format compared Wild format, it is best suited to new players, who like to earn advanced higher league rewards with low CP requirements. A player can reach Silver League by accumulating 7500+ CP, while in Wild format CP requirement is doubled for Silver League.

Any ranked battle win in this format gets you 'Rewards Points' which are counted towards Daily Focus Points (FP) and Season Points (SP). You'll also receive SPS rewards for winning a battle from Bronze III and onwards leagues as shown in the image below.

Wild Format

Wild format can be accessed from Battle section and by clicking on the 'Wild' tab next to Modern tab.

It is the original battle format of Splinterlands and got its Wild name after a crucial game update, which divided ranked battles into 2 different forms.

All card types and editions are allowed to be used in Wild format, there is no restriction on the selection of cards except provided by the ruleset during a battle.

Any battle won will award the player with SPS and RP from Bronze III and onward leagues. Although, the CP requirement for each league is almost double the Modern format since there are no restrictions on the utilization of card editions.


4) Events / Tournaments

Tournaments are special types of events organized by individuals and different communities. Tournament events can be created by anyone by paying around 2000 DEC as a creation fee and prizes upfront for reward distribution in advance.

To access the Tournaments page, you'll need to click on the Events tent icon as shown in the above image. Once you are on that page, you'll find various events to choose from.

All tournaments have certain entry rules, if you meet the entry requirements, then you'll have to pay a fixed tournament entry fee through that particular tournament page. Battle formats can be Wild or Modern depending on the host's will, look for entry requirements before participating in an event.

Once you have paid the tournament fee, you'll receive a confirmation message and the time to enter the arena.

Now, wait for the event to start and come back later on the announced schedule by the host.

Tournament Rewards
Tournament prizes are awarded based on the player's performance in that particular event, if a participant has outperformed in the tournament, he will receive the reward according to his placement in the tournament ranking system.

Although these rewards can be in different forms, it is up to the host what type of rewards he likes to distribute among the winners. The rewards can be DEC, SPS, any other HIVE engine token, vouchers, or booster packs.


5) Guild Brawls

Brawl is a type of battle that only applies to guild battles. Brawls are big battles between a group of guilds i.e. guild vs. guild battles, the brawls fights are similar to usual tournament fights, but here each player's win counts toward the guild's position in the brawl, so teamwork is an important aspect of guild brawls.

We are not going into much detail about Brawls but will give you a sneak peek into this type of battle because it is a very advanced type of battle and takes 5 days to complete a cycle.

All brawl fights use Wild format-style battle system and there are 3 phases in a 5-day cycle for each brawl from the start to the end.

Preparation Stage (Phase 1): There will be 2 days given that a guild should select a 'Fray', a Fray is a combat league and also defines some rules for usage of cards. The guild leader may assign each member to a Fray according to the player's fighting strength.

Combat Stage (Phase 2): Guild players will start to select battle lineups for the combat stage, players will have 48 hours to enter the lineups. Combat can be viewed once all the players have entered their battle lineups in the Combat Stage.

**Results Stage / Rewards (Phase 3): When the combat stage completes, guilds will be awarded Crowns according to their ranks, and players will receive Merits based on the guild's performance.

This is a simple introduction guide and I hope this guide will give your an idea of the different types of battles in Splinterlands. You can play around the Splinterlands website to explore more about these battle types and be a more knowledge-bearing player in the game.


Want to join Splinterlands Adventures, click the image to visit the game website:


Show your support in the comment section for my Splinterlands content.

Page Cover is designed in Canva.com

Page Break Line Courtesy: Kindpng.com

Game and stats images Courtesy: Splinterlands.com

References and Resources: Splinterlands Brawl Docs & Gameplay Docs